Review: Disconnected by Lisa M. Cronkhite

18669436Blurb from Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Milly has a huge problem on her hands.  She is being bullied by Amelia Norris. Day in and day out, Amelia torments Milly and even threatens to hurt her, but she can’t tell anyone—not a soul.  Milly’s reasoning—she does not want anyone to know where her tormentor lives.  They only share one thing in common.  Both co-exist as one in the same body. Milly is so disconnected from her past that she feels compelled to find out what truly happened to her when her parents were still alive.  After a mysterious fire, she and Grandpa George move into Aunt Rachel’s Victorian home where Milly then begins to unravel puzzling clues to her family history. Through dreams and scattered memories, Milly journals her breaking story, trying to cope by putting the shattered pieces back together, all the while resisting with her inner demon.  Amelia is determined to cut Milly out of the real world—literally.Milly starts to wonder who her real family is after stumbling across Aunt Rachel’s notebook—having the intuitive sense that something terribly awful is missing.  All she had thought to be true now seems like one big lie.

ebook, 200 pages
Published June 3rd 2014 by Poisoned Pencil
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
My main reason requested this book on NetGalley was because I was intrigued by the blurb. I felt like there’s some kind of mystery in it, though I was also wondering whether it is about mental illness or not. And since mental illness is my kind of book, I was looking forward to get an approval to read it.

To be honest I was a little bit disappointed when I read a note for reader right before the story begins. It basically tells me what the story is all about and was kinda kill the element of surprise for me, though it wasn’t that surprising either since I was already thought about it when I read the blurb. But still there was part of me that hoping that my guess about Amelia and Milly will be reveal a little bit longer, at least I didn’t think that I will know it before the story begins.

And since I already knew who Amelia and Milly is, there isn’t much that keeps me interested to their story. Add it with the way they tell their story, it’s kinda repetitive to me. The same thing happens over and over. Hence, I got bored and have to put it on hold.

When I picked it up for the second time, a month later, I can finally connect with the characters. I felt it gets better and the mystery about Milly parents and their death interested me. At 70% the story finally picked up, it wasn’t as slow as first part of the book. And then after that everything happen too fast and in a rush. The surprises and twist that I was so looking forward were really surprising me, however it didn’t work well for me. I felt like the author keep everything at bay for most of the time and then suddenly realized that she’s running out of page so that she has to tell me those surprises in one moment of truth. It overwhelmed me in a not so good way. I also couldn’t buy Milly-Blake relationship. Blake doesn’t have much story in first part and they didn’t interact much either but he suddenly becomes a big part of Milly’s life in last 20% of the story. Instead of happy she finally found someone who can be with her, I was questioning her sense to trust him that easy.

I like reading about mental illness and I think Disconnected can be more than an okay book but the flow of the story can’t make me give it more than 2.5 stars.

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars
One thought on “Review: Disconnected by Lisa M. Cronkhite

  1. Pingback: [Book Review] Disconnected By Lisa M. Cronkhite & Caffe Appassionato Magnolia Blend | Book And Coffee Addict

Leave a Reply

