Review: Harp’s Song by Cassie Shine

21499049Blurb from Goodreads

In just a few months Harp Evans will be officially coming of age and graduating from high school. She will be free from the mother that never wanted her, the house that never felt like home, and the disappointment of the last seventeen years. What she doesn’t know is that her mother has been holding onto a secret that has the potential to derail her dreams and destroy her already faulty sense of self.

A self-proclaimed recluse, Harp spends most of her time practicing the cello, in the hopes of earning a full scholarship that will grant her freedom, but will also send her away from her best friend Connor Williams, who is becoming more than just a friend.

As revelations are made, will Harp still feel the same way about leaving everyone that cares about her behind? Or will she continue to pursue the life she’s been dreaming of, for as long as she can remember?

Kindle Edition, 302 pages
Published 2014 by Cassie Shine
edition language: English
series: Harp’s Song
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
To be honest, it’s quite hard for me to decide whether I like this book or not. I think I have things I liked as much I didn’t like.

When I requested it and while reading it, I thought it’s a standalone, so I expected to get a whole full story. At some point, I can say it is a full story. There is a beginning, middle and ending that build Harp’s story. However, I don’t think the whole story build well. There is something off with the way it was written. The flow isn’t smooth to me. And there are many things that feel like coming out of the blue. I do understand when Harp says that her mom changing feels so suddenly, I feel it too, but in a different way. I think the author didn’t give me time to know both Harp and her mom. I only get description from Harp without really connect to her. Hence, it’s quite hard for me to feel her. The same case happens to Alex Hamilton. It’s too coincidence. He also appears and disappears so fast and out of the blue. Those things make me thinking that there are there just so Harp has something to trouble her life and a climax of the story while at the same time I can predict it from the beginning. In most part, I have to say that most of the things feel so fast and unbelievable. I didn’t get time to connect to the characters while at the same time they starting to tell me what happen in their life. So I just read it without feel it and couldn’t buy it.

However, I liked the way the author builds Harp and her mom relationship after her “speech”. As much as it isn’t nice thing Harp does, I think it’s close to reality. It’s understandable and was quite emotional. I also like how she lets her lose herself and then learn from her mistake. I believe that sometime, it’s best if we stand up from our mistake rather than we hold ourselves because people tell us to but then fall to pieces in the future.

And then the story ends, just to tell me that there is a sequel. I thought could those out of the blue things happen here because it will tell in sequel? Even if it is, I still feel the author can do much better than this one. I think I’m going to read Harp’s next story, anyway.

Note: can someone tell me what ding dong girls is? Cheerleaders?

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
Result: 2 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

