Review: Penryn & the End of Days #1, Angelfall by Susan Ee

11500217Blurb from Goodreads

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Kindle Edition, 283 pages
Published May 21st 2011 by Feral Dream
edition language: English
series: Penryn & The End of Days
genre: Post-apocalyptic, Suspense, Young Adult
My Thoughts
Although I really want to read this book, I didn’t pick it up as soon as I can. I thought I’ll read it when the series is completed but then I knew that it’ll likely be one long series that will end in years. And I was kinda afraid that it will be like any other typical YA dystopian books I read. It seems I read many dystopian these days. But I didn’t have enough patience to wait it for years to read it, so I read it now.

First thing I realized that it is more a post-apocalyptic than a dystopian story. Many lists on Goodread said that it’s a dystopian book and the blurb implies it too. So I was kinda surprise when I read the setting and worldbuilding. But I was also happy it isn’t really dystopian. I rarely read post-apocalyptic story and reading it was like a refreshing for me. I really like the way the author wrote it. It’s so clear I never doubt it even one single moment. It’s haunting and frightening me most of the time. It reminds me of another post-apocalyptic story that I love so much, The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I think there are similarities to both of them, despite the angel thing.

As for the story, it’s unpredictable and engaging. It can glue me to keep reading it. Although at some point I want to stop reading it because it was just too terrible for me to read it, I couldn’t help not to continue it since I couldn’t wait to know what happen next. But since it’s told from Penryn POV, I have to wait a little bit longer to know what really happens and the reason behind it. And when it finally gets the answers, it was just not much. It feels like her limited knowledge avoided me to know more. It didn’t mean it’s slow-paced, though. There are things that keep my heart beats fast with Penryn and Raffe along the story.

I’ve read many angel stories, but it isn’t like any other I’ve read before. A story about angels isn’t something new. A post-apocalyptic setting isn’t unusual either. But somehow it has its own originality. And now I can’t wait to read its sequels.

Result: 4 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

