Interview: Danielle L. Jensen

Hi fellow bloggers, welcome to my second interview. Yeah I know it’s been a long time since my first interview but I’m working on it, am I not? 🙂 And this time it will worth the wait because the author whom I interviewed is the lovely awesome Danielle Jensen! Who is she, you may ask? Well…where have you been all this time doesn’t know about her? Kidding…she’s the author of the awesome fantasy book, Stolen Songbird. I love it and the sequel is one of books I’m looking forward next year. So without further ado, here are her answers for my questions:

Ask Danielle L. Jensen - Discussion Group

Me: I read in other interviews that Stolen Songbird was inspired by a dream of city buried and a real mountain in Canada. How did you develop it into the setting of Trollus?

Danielle: I thought about it A LOT. I spent months thinking about the world of Trollus before I wrote a single word down. The good thing about being a writer is that what other people call daydreaming, I call working.

Me: After the setting, what did you write/come in your mind first, the story or the characters?

Danielle: It’s hard to separate the development of the two, but I’d say the idea to have the trolls cursed to Trollus and Cecile being kidnapped to break that curse came next. In the first few drafts, Luc was a much more important character than he ended up being later on. He originally kidnapped Cecile to sell to the trolls because he was angry about her turning down his proposal. It’s a bit funny to think about that version of events now.

Me: When I read Stolen Songbird, there were characters that surprised me (Marc and Anais). Do you always know what will happen to the story and the characters long before you finish writing it?

Danielle: I didn’t plot out Stolen Songbird, so a lot of what happens in the novel surprised me as much as it would any reader. Which is a bit weird, given that it came from my imagination. But to answer your question, I do know how the series will end and what will happen to most of the characters.

Me: My friend (Hi Padma!) was kinda hesitant to read Stolen Songbird since it’s quite thick and she has not-so-good experiences with YA fantasy books with pretty cover and intriguing blurb. Stolen Songbird has both intriguing blurb and pretty cover, what will you say to her to convince her to read your book? (I recommended Stolen Songbird to her and she read my review and said that she will try it but if you meet her, what will you say?)

Danielle: Reading a thick book is like watching a television series with a lot of episodes: it isn’t harder, it just takes longer, and if you aren’t enjoying it, you’re probably less likely to stick it out until the end.

A lot of publishers offer the first three (or more!) chapters of a book free online through Amazon and other retailers. If your friend is hesitant about committing to buying the novel, I’d suggest that she read those free chapters to see if they catch her interest.

Me: What do you love about fantasy stories?

Danielle: I love that all the things that are impossible in real life become possible in fantasy novels.

Me: Did you always know that you will be a writer? What did you want to be when you were a child?

Danielle: I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until I was well into my twenties. When I was younger, I wanted to be a horse veterinarian, but I ended up getting a business degree and working in finance for quite a few years.

Those are my six questions to Danielle. She actually said that I can ask her five questions but five isn’t enough for me 🙂 What do you think? For those who haven’t read it yet, aren’t you interested reading Stolen Songbird? Since I love it, I’ll definitely re-read it in the future, maybe even sooner than later 🙂

I have a habit to “stalk” the author of the books I love. There are so many ways to stalk Danielle. I hope she doesn’t mind with me or you stalking her.

Discussion group on Goodreads

Twitter

Facebook

Leave a Reply

