Review: Sea Breeze #6, Misbehaving by Abbi Glines

17835773Blurb from Goodreads

An unexpected affair leads to mind-blowing harmony in this Sea Breeze novel from New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines.

Jason is sick of living in his rock star brother’s shadow. So when he ships off to Sea Breeze, Alabama, he’s looking for a much deserved escape and a chance to blow off some envious steam. Falling for the local bad girl was definitely not the plan. But as the new duo enjoys some naughty fun in the Alabama sun, Jason learns that even though Jax is the musician in the family, he’s not the only brother who can rock someone’s world.

Kindle Edition, 352 pages
Published December 17th 2013 by Simon Pulse
edition language: English
series: Sea Breeze
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I think this book is better than the last two of Sea Breeze series which didn’t have much story in it but steamier scenes. It seems the more Abbi Glines wrote, the steamier it gets. I like reading steamy story but I also want more to the plot and the story. I’m quite glad this book has something more, though it is also as cliche and predictable as it can be. But since I can’t avoid cliche thing in this life and I’ve started this series a long time ago, I feel like I have to read it to complete the series. So here I am.

To be honest, I didn’t have any expectation to this book. It’s a book that I can read in one sitting and I don’t need to think more about it. I like Jess and Jason enough to connect with their story. But not enough to sympathized or feel their problems. Everyone said that Jess is a bad girl but I couldn’t see it. I don’t think I can label her as the bad girl of the town just because the way she dress and flirt and interact with men. And Jason, he said that he wants to be free from his parents but I think he didn’t even try it. But I liked Jess mom and her Gilmore Girls talk. It’s entertaining and made me laugh. I wish she has more stories here. I also liked their relationship as mother and daughter.

However, I didn’t quite like Jess relationship with Krit. Although he is out of my attention all this time, I don’t want him to be the third wheel between Jess and Jason. And knowing that he is the main focus for next book is just like the same old story in Sea Breeze series. It even has pattern! You don’t believe me? Let me show you then.

Sea Breeze 1, Breathe: Sadie-Jax (who has a brother named Jason)-Marcus
Sea Breeze 2, Because of Low: Marcus (has a sister, Amanda and best friend with Preston)-Willow-Cage
Sea Breeze 3, While It Lasts: Cage-Eva-Jeremy (though, I think it isn’t a love triangle, really)
Sea Breeze 4, Just For Now: Preston-Amanda-Jason
Sea Breeze 5, Sometimes It Lasts: an interlude from Sea Breeze 3
Sea Breeze 6, Misbehaving: Jason-Jess-Krit
Sea Breeze 7, Bad For You: Krit (I have to read to know whether there will be other third wheel on Krit relationship or not).
Hmm…what do you think?
Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

