Review: Sea Breeze #7, Bad For You by Abbi Glines

18870159Blurb from Goodreads

Innocence was never meant for the addictive…

Addiction was something Krit Corbin accepted as part of his nature a long time ago. He decided to embrace it and flip his finger at the rules. Women had always been the number one thing on his list of addictions. He couldn’t get enough. Being the lead singer in a rock band had only made access to his favorite addiction that much easier.

Being alone was the only thing Blythe Denton understood. The small town minister’s family that raised her hadn’t accepted her as their own. The minister’s wife had always made sure Blythe understood just how unworthy she was of love. When Blythe is sent away to college and given a chance to finally be free of living as an unwanted burden, she looks forward to having peace in her life. Being alone isn’t something that bothers her. She escapes reality in the stories she writes.

However, the ridiculously sexy tattooed guy who keeps throwing parties in the apartment above hers is driving her crazy. For starters, he doesn’t treat her like she would expect a guy with a different woman always hanging on his arm to treat someone as uninteresting as her. She looks nothing like the gorgeous women she sees parading in and out of his apartment, but for some strange reason he keeps showing up at her door.

During a party at his apartment, Krit’s new neighbor comes to the door with her long brown hair pulled up in a messy knot and a pair of glasses perched on her cute little nose. She wants him to turn down the music, but he convinces her to stay.

Krit Corbin may have just found his biggest addiction yet. And Blythe Denton realizes too late that she’s finally been claimed.

ebook, 288 pages
Published April 1st 2014 by Simon Pulse
edition language: English
series: Sea Breeze
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I know that there are similarities in each book of Sea Breeze series. I think I can say that it isn’t surprising anymore after reading 6 books. But I never read it back to back to point out in which part the similarities are. Let’s say I only feel it without really know it, up until now. I was quite enjoyed reading Misbehaving, at least compare to Just For Now and Sometimes It Lasts, I decided to read Bad for You right after I finished Misbehaving.

First couple chapters I can say that I really liked it, more than other books in the series, though it still couldn’t compete Because of Low as my favorite of the series. And then I started to feel like I’ve read it before. It was like a deja vu. It wasn’t just in the feeling that I got, but also the way the characters tell their story. They didn’t tell it in exact same sentences, words by words, but it has the same meaning.

“I turned around to see her grinning at me like I’d hung the moon, and my heart clenched. No. This was wrong. I wasn’t that guy. […] I stared at my phone for five more minutes, then decided I was acting like a damn chick. Tossing my phone on the sofa, I stood up and headed back to the bathroom to take a shower. Blythe wasn’t mine to protect.”

In Misbehaving:

”I hoped she was right. I didn’t want to have to kill anyone for seeing what was mine. A bucket of ice-cold water couldn’t compete with the icy chill that went through me. What did I mean by “what was mine”? Jess wasn’t mine. I couldn’t begin to think of her as mine. I would be going back to Harvard in the fall. I had a life that Jess didn’t fit into. One I was currently trying to figure out. I didn’t need more complications.”

and here’s another example:

“Maybe I should apologize for something, but I didn’t know what that would be. I had made sweet tea. He had liked it and gotten our plates. Then . . . then he suddenly left. I had thought it was odd, but I believed him that he was running late and hadn’t noticed the time.

While in Misbehaving:

“I had done something. I just couldn’t figure out what. Was he embarrassed by my dress? That was all I could think of. We had been talking about it when he had gone cold. I didn’t have designer clothing.”

To be honest, I was surprised. I never thought it will be that similar. It’s like I read the brand new same old story with different characters name.

However, I have to give credit to the characters in this story, Krit and Blythe. I think they save this story with their consistency characteristic. Something that Misbehaving didn’t have. I can see and feel the shyness and awkward feeling from Blythe. She shows me that she has problem with crowd. The same case happens to Krit. He is the same character I read in Misbehaving with possessive behavior and “crazy” act and he shows it to me. I like them more than Jess and Jason. And I think they have more story, interesting complicated story than in Misbehaving, though I also feel Krit’s past could be more detail to understand him better.

I don’t know how many books Abbi Glines will write for Sea Breeze series. Maybe it will be over when all Jackdown members have their own story, or maybe she’ll finish it when all of Sea Breeze people tell their story, I think I’ll still read it because I’ve started the series a long time ago. I hate not to finish series that I’ve started. One thing for sure, it still hasn’t gotten more than 3 stars from me. I guess it means something, then.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

