Review: In The Mirror by Kaira Rouda

20941798Blurb from Goodreads

If you knew you may die soon, what choices would you make?

Jennifer Benson has it all: a successful career, a perfect husband, two kids and abundant friendships. The only problem is she may be dying. IN THE MIRROR is the realistic love story about a woman facing a deadly illness, and her loves past and present. It’s a story that unfolds with a delightful blend of humor and poignancy, ringing true in the heart of anyone who has ignored a warning of her own.

Kindle Edition, 216 pages
Published April 15th 2014 by Real You Publishing Group (first published March 5th 2014)
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

My friend asked me whether I’ve read cancer books. I think the closest book with cancer story I’ve read was The Fault In Our Stars. But two years ago I spent a lot of times at a cancer hospital. It teaches me a lot and I can understand Jennifer feeling quite well, more or less. I know everyone has their own way to handle their problem, or in this case their illness. One way might work for one person but it doesn’t mean it also suits for another.

Jennifer has so many things that some of cancer survivors do (might) not have. She has family who support her, though it isn’t a picture perfect family. She has two adorable-healthy children, she has best friends and friends who are willing to help her and be there for her and she has money she can have the new treatment with the best medicine. Well…she’s taken care in the best place with nurse and doctor who constantly pay attention to her need, in the first place. That one alone needs a lot of money. She doesn’t have to think how she pays the bill. I think cancer treatment is quite expensive, at least in my country. She has all of them. Yet, she keeps whine all the time. I’m not saying she can’t whine. I’m sure I’m gonna whine if I was in her shoes too, but I want her to be blessed, count her blessing every second she has. After fifteen months since her knew about her cancer, I’m kind of wish she’s already get through the five stages of grief. She thinks she doesn’t have much time, so why doesn’t she spend it to live her life and set her priority? Instead she plays fire with her ex-boyfriend, dream about him and thinking about him while she’s talking with her husband. She knows she has problem with her husband and their relationship, but she doesn’t at least talk about it with him. She makes it hard for me to like her. I feel sad for her, but I want her to be brave, to be a survivor, even if she ends up like her best friend, at least she tries.

When I requested this book, I thought it’ll teach me something. But I have to say, it isn’t an inspirational story since I didn’t get anything except my need to yell at Jennifer so many times. It isn’t an enjoyable reading either. I mostly got mad at Jennifer and was kinda boring. In the end, I think this is a good book but I didn’t quite enjoy it.

Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

