Review: Lovely Vicious by Sara Wolf

18657517Blurb from Goodreads

Fire meets ice. Love meets hate.

Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years, nine weeks, and five days, and after what happened last time, she intends to keep it that way. Since then she’s lost eighty-five pounds, gotten four streaks of purple in her hair, and moved to the Buttcrack-of-Nowhere Ohio to help her mom escape a bad relationship.

All the girls in her new school want one thing – Jack Hunter, the Ice Prince of East Summit High. Hot as an Armani ad, smart enough to get into Yale, and colder than the Arctic, Jack Hunter’s never gone out with anyone. Sure, people have seen him downtown with beautiful women, but he’s never given high school girls the time of day. Until Isis punches him in the face.

Jack’s met his match. Suddenly everything is a game.

The goal: Make the other beg for mercy.

The game board: East Summit High.

The reward: Something neither of them expected.

ebook, 269 pages
Published November 5th 2013 (first published November 4th 2013)
edition language: English
series: Lovely Vicious
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I thought this book will be like any other YA books, a cliche-predictable story. In some part it’s still cliche and predictable but in most part it surprisingly has something more in the story.

It was kinda hard for me to like, more over fall in love with the characters in the first place. Isis and Jack are two main characters who aren’t sweet-good-perfect characters. They both carry baggage and very bad past with them, it all haunt them and effected them more than they realize. It doesn’t mean that I don’t like damage characters, it’s just they are so damage they do things that are kinda unbelievable to me. They declare a war just because the honesty they told each other. At first I just couldn’t get it. I didn’t understand why they keep hurting each other. But then I can see through it, just like Jack see through Isis’s mask. And it hurt me reading about her past and what she has to carry around with her.

Most of the time, Isis is the one who tells the story but in some crucial moments, the author puts Jack’s voice to tell his POV. I really liked this change since I didn’t expect he will share his thoughts. I especially loved when their POV get mix and tangle with each other, completed each other POV.

In the end, I think I really liked and enjoyed Isis and Jack story more than I thought before I start reading it. And the ending, I can’t not to read it. I really need to read it as soon as I can.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

