Review: Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

22559405Blurb from Goodreads

 

Come back to me. That was the very last thing I said to him.

 

Always. The very last thing he said to me.

 

Home on leave in sunny California, Marine and local lothario Kit Ryan finds himself dangerously drawn to his best friend’s sister, Jessa – the one girl he can’t have.

 

But Kit’s not about to let a few obstacles stand in his way and soon Jessa’s falling for his irresistible charms.

 

What starts out as a summer romance of secret hook-ups and magical first times quickly develops into a passionate love affair that turns both their worlds upside down.

 

When summer’s over and it’s time for Kit to redeploy, neither Kit nor Jessa are ready to say goodbye. Jessa’s finally following her dreams and Kit’s discovered there’s someone he’d sacrifice everything for.

 

Jessa’s prepared to wait for Kit no matter what. But when something more than distance and time rips them apart they’re forced to decide whether what they have is really worth fighting for.

 

A breathtaking, scorchingly hot story about love, friendship, family and finding your way back from the edge of heartbreak.

Kindle Edition, 352 pages
Published June 19th 2014 by Pan Macmillan
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

I only had read one Sarah Alderson book, Hunting Lila. I liked it enough I was so excited when I knew that she has a debut NA contemporary book under her pen name, Mila Gray. Moreover when the blurb says that the hero is a marine who falls in love with his best friend’s sister. I think there will be so many emotions and drama in it, for Kit as a marine who obviously has saw more of life and death than civilian and for Jessa as a girl who has a crush for so long for her brother’s best friend.

Aside the good-intriguing prologue which has a nice cliffhanger that will keep you reading it, unfortunately there is nothing much happen in more than half of the story. I think at 60% of the book, I didn’t get much except Kit and Jessa lusting each other and have a lot of make out session. Let’s say I want something more to the story. Yes I know it’s the part when they start their relationship but I think there’s room for them to tell me more than about their relationship.

Both Jessa’s dad and brother are marines while Kit’s dad is also a former marine. They have marine blood in them but it’s barely described here. I want to know Kit and Riley as marines, how well they do their jobs, how they handle it and what they think about the war and life. As for Jessa, she wants to be an actor and Kit says she’s a good actor and it is worth it to pursue but I didn’t get much about it either, aside a few talk about it. Basically, I want to know all of things that build and connect as their character.

Fortunately, the rest of 40% turns quite good. I get more about Kit and Riley’s marine side. And I finally can feel the feelings. There are so many emotions in it. I also really liked the ending. The characters have their happy ending, despite everything that had happened to them. But without it being too sugary and all. It’s bittersweet just like in real life.

In the end, I think this is more than an okay book, it’s really good but it’s just it didn’t quite live my expectation. I still liked and enjoyed reading it, though.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

