Review: A Shade of Vampire #7, A Break of Day by Bella Forrest

21466236Blurb from Goodreads

The greatly anticipated conclusion to Derek and Sofia’s journey!

Everything Sofia believed to be true has crumbled before her very eyes…

In this explosive finale, secrets will be revealed, loyalties tested and trust broken.

Are you ready to return to The Shade?

Kindle Edition, 244 pages
Published July 11th 2014 (first published July 7th 2014)
edition language: English
series: A Shade of Vampire
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
Despite I loved the series, Derek and Sofia’s final story was such a disappointment. Actually, the series much to my surprise slowly but sure meet its down fall. I can’t help to not notice things that I disliked in each sequel after book 4.

Looking back now, I think I can bear reading a lot of POV, if it means that I can get the clarity in the story. I don’t know, maybe Bella Forrest read my review or other Shaddicts have the same thoughts as mine about those POV, but this book is told mostly from Sofia and Derek’s POV. Just like the first book, A Shade of Vampire. The problem is both Derek and Sofia barely know anything. Reading their final journey to find True Sanctuary was like walking in the dark. They don’t have any idea what they are facing and what they have to do. It was just so frustrating!

I usually enjoy reading something that still unclear along the story as it sometimes means it’s unpredictable and there’s twist in the story. Not in this case. Derek and Sofia just go with the flow and mostly end up asking each other “What now?” Or “Now what?” Hence I felt like there isn’t clarity and certainty of where the story will go.

As Derek and Sofia keep in blind most of the time, other characters have the answer of their questions. It reveals slowly along the story. Unfortunately, before the answers finally reveals, I was already frustrated with them and the story. Thus it made me bored to death. I was so eager to finish it. Not because it’s so engaging but because so I can put it down for good so that I can move on to other books.

There are also things that really annoyed me while I read. Just like Derek and Sofia, I have questions about so many things. Some of them are finally answered but some other are just left behind. Even the characters who have answers, can’t answers those questions. And they are so casually tell me they don’t have the answers because it happened a long time ago or never happen before. They left it behind the reasons and I just couldn’t accept it.

I think this book isn’t about vampires anymore, as most of the time they rely on the witches/warlock. So you see, whenever things get hard, the witches/warlock come to help them. And suddenly it solves easily. It made the war that I really looking forward felt anticlimactic. And there is also thing that comes out of the blue, much for the characters convenience. I just don’t know what to call it, too coincidence or too easy?

According to Goodreads, 2 stars means it was an okay book. I think in a way it was an okay conclusion for Derek and Sofia. I liked the ending, for sure, too bad there are also a lot of things I disliked. I think I need a break from this series, though after this one there is a spin-off of Kiev’s story. And who knows whether there will be another spin-off of the vampire saga or not.

Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

