Review: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

18114909Blurb from Goodreads

An edgy, realistic, and utterly captivating novel from an exciting new voice in teen fiction.

Alexi Littrell hasn’t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in “the Kool-Aid Kid,” who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

A searing, poignant book, Faking Normal is the extraordinary debut novel from an exciting new author-Courtney C. Stevens.

Kindle Edition, 368 pages
Published February 25th 2014 by HarperTeen
edition language: English
series: Faking Normal
genre: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
My Thoughts
To be honest, it was kind of hard for me to feel and connect with Alexi in the beginning. She’s silent and keeps most everything to herself. It was like she didn’t let me close to her. Moreover allow me to understand her. Hence, first part of the book felt a bit slow and boring. But it didn’t mean that the story didn’t interesting, far from it. In fact, this is my kind of books and yes, in the end I ended up love it.

I think what I love most about it is it felt real and true. I know everyone has different coping mechanism, as hard as I was connected to Alexi it was one of her coping mechanisms. I guess once I see it I could understand her more. Bodee, the good boy next door seems too good to be true but he also has his own problems and dealing with it too. Thus, I didn’t feel like he’s Alexi’s knight in shining armor, though he indeed helps her throughout the story. And the most I love from their relationship is it takes times and (again) felt real and both of them are helping each other. Aside Alexi and Bodee, there are characters that left me feel so many emotions. The most prominent one is Alexi’s sister, Kayla. I dislike her, even after what she did for Alexi. She’s such a bully and selfish sister. On the other hand, I think I can feel all of those emotions because they are that good as characters.

As for the story, there isn’t something new in it. I’ve read many similar books but it’s delivered differently and makes its own story. Although I can guess who is the reason Alexi has coping mechanism and her reason to always go to school, the author didn’t make it easy for me to point them out. There are possibilities that made me wondering whether my guesses were right or not. Though in the end I was right of both of them, I really enjoyed that wondering and guessing part. There is also one thing that I wasn’t quite sure about in most part of the story. But it was clear and made sense once I understand it. At the end of the book, Alexi got her closure, at least her closure for what happened to her 3 months before the story began. It wasn’t a sweet rainbow kind of closure. It was a bittersweet ending that begins her journey. And I loved it that way because I believe and agree with the author at her notes, it’s a long way journey for Alexi and her life just begins.

Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

