Review: The Athena Effect #4, The Redcastle Redemption by Derrolyn Anderson

18006303Blurb from Goodreads

Things finally seem peaceful for Cali and Calvin, but the twins are still struggling with their new-found freedom. Layla senses that more trouble still lurks in her future, while Michael’s happiness is being crushed under the weight of a terrible secret.
When someone new discovers the girl’s special talents, he will stop at nothing to put them to use. The cousins must face their most brutal adversary yet, and everyone is forced to fight for both their lives and their loves.

ebook
Published (first published June 2nd 2014)
edition language: English
series: The Athena Effect
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I think The Redcastle Redemption is a good final book for The Athena Effect series. Everything that happens with Cali, Layla and Michael wrap up nicely. The story begins with an unexpected scene which leads to a lot of action scenes. It felts so fast but not in a rush. I mean, in that one single moment the characters indeed need to think and act immediately since their life are in danger.I loved that Layla grow so much since I first met her and so does with Michael. He’s different now. He knows his mistakes and wants to make it right. I think among the three, he’s more real to me. I don’t know, maybe it’s because he doesn’t have power, unlike Cali and Layla. He’s jealous with their power and makes mistakes because of it but he knows it, admit it and want to be a better man because of it. It doesn’t mean that I didn’t love Cali and Layla, though. I do love them, it’s just I also see Michael differently now.

As for the romance, it’s still as sweet as when I read The Athena Effect, for Cali and Cal’s relationship and The Caledonian Inheritance for Layla and Ramon’s romance. But I have to admit that I missed reading Cali’s unpredictable-innocence questions about ordinary things. I think it’s what makes her unique as a character I’ve ever read.

Although I loved the action in this book, it didn’t feel as creepy and thrill as in The Mackenzie Legacy. It made my heart beat fast but at the same time it still felt too easy. I guess I want the characters struggle more as this is their final journey. Geez…it made me sound like a bad reader wanting the characters to have a very bad experience before their happily ever after 😀

I was also not quite satisfied with the reason of Cali and Layla’s power. To be honest, I want more explanation about it, not just it’s a hereditary and some paranormal thing and that’s just it.

It’s always a bittersweet reading a final book of series I loved. I like that it ends well but I’m also sad that I won’t be able to meet the characters again in the future. The Athena Effect series is surely one of those series. Now the only thing I can do is reread the books when I feel like I miss Cali and Cal, Layla and Ramon and Michael and Mina.

ARC was provided by the author in exchange for honest review.
Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

