Review: The Lunar Chronicles #1, Cinder by Marissa Meyer

12973964Blurb from Goodreads

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Kindle Edition, 390 pages
Published January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
edition language: English
series: The Lunar Chronicles
genre: Sci-fi, Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
My Thoughts
When I read Cinder’s blurb it sounds so scifi it picked my interest instantly. I thought it would be an unpredictable story as I don’t think I ever read this kind of book. But the first few chapters I can already guess most of the important things in the story. And with all of those computer stuff I’m not familiar with, it was quite confusing for me to understand the whole cyborg, human, and android thingy in this book. But surprisingly despite the predictable plot and the story that reminds me a lot of a manga (Japanese comic) I read 19 years ago, Sailor Moon, I enjoyed reading this book.
Although at first I was kinda hesitate to continue reading because of the resamble of Sailor Moon, I can’t help not to curious of the story. I mostly curious of what Prince Kaito will do regarding Queen Levana. And there are characters I really want to know which side they are. They aren’t main characters, but they picked my interest as I already guessed mostly what will happen with the main characters.

As one of main characters, Cinder is a lovable character. I think she’s brave, strong, and definitely smart, though in some way she’s naive and quite annoying. There were time that were quite annoying and frustrating when she doesn’t see things clearly while it’s so obvious for me. Maybe it’s because she’s still 16 years old, or maybe it’s because she always thinks herself unworthy, but as a cyborg, I think she can see and do more than most human can do.

However, I wasn’t sure with Kaito at the beginning. He doesn’t act like a future emperor mostly, though at the same time I know it indeed makes him ‘approvable’ and makes his relationship with Cinder make sense. I just didn’t quite like how easy he believes and lets other characters tell him what to do. But I love his relationship with Cinder, it feels so natural since they don’t instantly talking about love and all.

There also things that are quite unclear for me in this whole New Beijing and Luna Realm setting. I didn’t find more ‘Beijing’ except for one Chinese character name, if I wasn’t wrong and a formal calling addressed to Cinder when Kai feels like he wants to call her in formality. The Luna Realm, as much as it’s interesting to read, doesn’t explain much either. The same case happens with Cinder’s cyborg thing. It’s the first and one thing that confused me, to be honest. Questions of whether she’s capable to have feelings and all when in a way she has to be rebooted are in my head while I read it.

All in all, I think Cinder is a good Cinderella retelling. In some way it felt like it has its own originality. And it really has sci-fi feeling, unlike most YA sci-fi books I read nowadays. I just hope the unclear setting will describe more in the sequels. So yes…it means I’ll read the sequels for sure.

Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

