Review: Eternal Night by Carina Adly MacKenzie

22304244Blurb from Goodreads

There are gods among us…

Six young gods are hiding in plain sight among mortals, living secretly in cities across the world. From lavish penthouse soirees to pulsing underground clubs, for them, the party literally never ends. Until now.

On a hot June morning, the body of a beautiful girl is found floating in the rooftop pool of the Jefferson Hotel, her white-ink tattoos revealing the story of a life much longer than seems possible. Only the immortals know the truth: Nadia was the goddess of hope. Now she’s gone, and the world as they know it is ending. The Hudson River has turned blood red. Storms rage overhead. Mania is rapidly spreading across the globe.

It is up to the remaining gods—Lola, Dean, Weston, Mark, Nike and Peitha—to put aside centuries of betrayal and heartbreak, and stop the mysterious source of darkness that is taking over… before the sun sets forever.

Carina Adly MacKenzie, blogger and television critic, has penned a steamy, romantic, and ultimately redemptive story of forgotten gods, the persistence of hope, and the power of love to save us.

 

Kindle Edition
Published August 26th 2014 by The Studio, a Paper Lantern Lit imprint
edition language: English
genre: Fantasy, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

Hope is dead

So the gods and goddesses that we know from the mythology still live with us now. They are immortal but they can be killed and die. They live among human and slowly lose their power as human don’t believe in them anymore. There are 7 (minor) gods/goddesses in this story, some of them are clear who they are but some other doesn’t have many descriptions. So I have to guess who they really are. Here who I thought they are:

Lola = Aphrodite (Greek mythology, goddess of love)
Dean = Dionysus (Greek mythology, god of wine, of ritual madness and religious ecstasy)
Weston = Mercury, god of communication (Roman mythology) = Hermes (Greek mythology)
Mark = Týr (Norse mythology, god of war)
Nike = Nike (Greek mythology, goddess of victory)
Peitha = Peitho (Greek mythology, goddess of Persuasion)
Nadia = Elpis (Greek mythology, goddess of hope)

I love reading about mythology. The god and goddesses that is mentioned in the blurb attracts me to request this book in the first place. So you see I thought it’s about Greek mythology or other mythology with gods and goddesses, but what I got is not really who they are in mythology as they act and think more human than gods and goddesses I’ve read. They are descendants of gods and goddesses but they slowly turn into human the more they spend their live on earth.

To be honest, I kinda regretted it as I didn’t get the mythology I really look forward when I started reading it. I just wish they can show me that they are indeed once gods and goddess while what I feel is more mortal than immortal being. But on the other hand I guess it means that the author did a good job describing the human side of the gods and goddesses in this book, though it was kinda hard for me to believe that they are godly creatures.

The story is told from 6 POVs, the last (known of) remaining gods and goddesses on earth. At first it overwhelmed me because I felt like I have to guess who is who, which one of them is which god/goddess, so that I can picture them easier. They don’t reveal themselves all at one. Hence it makes the story more interesting. Each one of them has their own stories. Their past somehow connect to one another. I especially enjoyed this part as I can see them a bit more immortal than in their life now.

I think this book has an interesting idea but along the way it lack something, not to mention that there are a lot of typos and need more editing. I usually can ignore it as English isn’t my first language. So who am I to judge it but in this case it keeps catch my attention, even for my untrained eyes. And the fact that there are things that happen too coincidence and characters who seem can’t set their priority well were kinda annoyed me. But over all I quite enjoyed reading it.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

