Review: Elemental #4, Secret by Brigid Kemmerer

18754512Blurb from Goodreads

Keep his brother’s business going or the Merricks will be out on the street.
Keep the secret of where he’s going in the evenings from his own twin–or he’ll lose his family.

Keep his mind off the hot, self-assured dancer who’s supposed to be his “girlfriend’s” partner.

Of course there’s also the homicidal freak Quinn has taken to hanging around, and the Elemental Guide counting the hours until he can try again to kill the Merrick brothers.

There’s a storm coming. From all sides. And then some.

Nick Merrick, can you keep it together?

ebook, 352 pages
Published January 28th 2014 by Kensington Publishing Corporation
edition language: English
series: Elemental
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I don’t think there is any better title for this book other than Secret. Nick along with other characters has a lot of secrets they keep around for most of their life. And it costs drama, lots of drama, more than 6 previous books and novellas in the series. I love drama and angst in contemporary story, but I also quite worried that it will be too much and overshadow other things in the plot. I’m glad I didn’t feel that way at all, on the contrary it was so engaging. I couldn’t stop reading it, not even when I have to work. I ended up kept stealing my work time to read it because I just couldn’t wait for Nick and Quinn tell their story.

In a way, I think Secret is slightly different from its prequels. It focuses on more to Nick and Quinn’s life, not the Merricks’ element power. Thus, the drama and angst in this book. Again, I thought it will make it lose focus on the main theme in the series, the Elemental. Moreover the antagonist who shows up in the prologue hasn’t yet mentioned again in more than half of the book, though I have my own guess about it too. But once again, I was glad it doesn’t lose focus. It just changes its focus and because of that I know more about the fight between the Merricks and the Morgans.

To be honest, it was quite surprising me that I ended up liking Tyler Morgan. He reminds me a bit of Hunter. Not that they have common things but in a way that Brigid Kemmerer put them in the gray area. He isn’t like the Merricks who are in the white side, or the Guides who are the antagonists. Well…at least I see them that way, but with Hunter and Tyler, I’m not sure anymore. They make me wondering and there is always moments when I’m questioning their motive and whether they are sincere or not. It feels like I don’t know them at all and can’t guess what they will do next. And they keep surprising me which I really like because it makes the story more interesting.

Although Spark is still my favorite of the series so far, I hold all of the books and the characters dearly in my heart. Without a doubt this is one of my favorite YA paranormal romance series. Now I’m gonna move on to Sacrifice because I can’t wait to read my favorite Merrick to tell me his story 😉

Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

