Review: Beast by Ella James

22543669Blurb from Goodreads

FROM HOLLYWOOD ROYALTY
At twenty-one years old, third-generation movie star Cal Hammond was on top of the world. He had more money than God and more women than any man could need. But when a night of debauchery ends in tragedy, he forfeits a life of luxury for a ten-year prison sentence at La Rosa, California’s most violent prison.

TO A BRUTAL BEAST
Eight years later, a ruthless, cunning man runs La Rosa from the inside. He is known simply as BEAST. All the wardens fear him. All the gangs obey him. He speaks to no one but his inner council. What he says is law.

NOW ONLY SHE CAN SAVE HIM
Annabelle Mitchell’s father is the warden at La Rosa. He deals as dirty as his trustees, and after years of smooth relations with Beast and the gangs he runs, Holt lands on the powerful prisoner’s hit list. That very afternoon, Annabelle pays a surprise visit to her father’s work, hoping to use her new counseling license at a place she thinks she could make a difference. When she catches Beast’s eye, he releases the warden and grabs the daughter. The price for the warden’s error is not death. It’s his precious Belle.

ebook
Published August 18th 2014 by Barkley’s Books
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Adult
My Thoughts
Beast actually divided into 4 parts, each part is only contain less than 100 pages. Since it’s so short, I’ll put all of them in this one review.
Part 1 (3 out of 5 stars)
It was kinda hard to rate a story that hasn’t finished yet, moreover when it’s divided into 4 parts. It means that I only get a quarter, first 25% of the book and usually don’t get much of the whole story. But this Beauty and the Beast retelling can catch my attention and I think I got a good premise and was quite interesting. It made me want to read the second part right away.

It is also intriguing. I’ve read more than enough Beauty and the Beast retelling, but never read it written in erotica story. So yeah…this is a new one for me. And am curious.

Part 2 (3 out of 5 stars)
I finally got the Beauty and the Beast part, but I didn’t quite feel it, tbh. I don’t know. Maybe those steamy scenes were too much or else, but I just couldn’t see it as a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Yes, there is Beast and Beauty and Beauty’s father but that was just it. I failed to see the connection with the original story. But the writing is still good and I’m still curious.

And I think I know who or should I say to whom Beast work for. I get a feeling that he isn’t like he lets Annabelle believes he is, not like that, anyway. He needs to be a good man (sort of) in order to become the hero. That usually the way it is, right? So let’s see in part 3.

Part 3 (2 out of 5 stars)
Guess what? My guess right! That predictable! And this part has a lots of rolling my eyes moments. I wasn’t curious anymore but since there’s only one part left, I’ll read it to finish it.
Part 4 (2 out of 5 stars)
More rolling my eyes moments. I know that this is an erotica story but I thought I can at least get a believable story or something? And yes, it’s still predictable and Beast and Annabelle seem don’t know what they priority is which I didn’t like, at all. Well…unless their priority is having lots of sex in the middle of live and death moments. Sigh. 2 stars are all for the writing, not the story.
All in all, 2.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

