Review: Swept Away, volume one by J. Haymore

23290503Blurb from Goodreads

He is everywhere. He surrounds me, wends his way under my skin. I can’t escape his strength, his intensity, his presence.

I’m trapped.

There’s nowhere to run.

Nowhere to hide.

But even if I could escape… would I be strong enough to leave?

I needed something — something big — to get myself out of the rut I’d fallen into after the car accident that killed my sister. This sailing trip was meant only to mark a new chapter in my life. Until Ethan Williams stepped on board.

Ethan radiated confidence. His darkly handsome good looks and ocean-blue eyes mesmerized me. But it was the way he looked at me that drew me in. He wasn’t looking at my past or at my scars, but the real me behind all that baggage I was trying so hard to leave behind.

But Ethan had secrets—dark, dangerous secrets. I was trapped in the middle of the ocean in a tangle of lies, sex, and violence. The problem was, I was happy to be trapped forever…if it meant I could have him.

My Thoughts

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

To be honest I still undecided what I feel about this book. First part of the book, to be exact, as it has 4 volumes to be a whole book which will release back to back each month, if I’m not wrong.

First thing that I notice and didn’t quite like is it’s (another) story with an insta-love. None of the main characters admit it, of course. They say it’s an infatuation, but usually the infatuation leads to the fall in love, right? Maybe I shouldn’t say it as an insta-love as both Tara and Ethan don’t feel it (yet) but it’s just the same pattern as most of NA stories nowadays. So whatever the characters care or not to admit, I can’t help not to think that it’s an insta-love because there isn’t much time for them to know each other. They just fall in love within minutes, within few pages, or even within few paragraphs. In Tara and Ethan’s case, they get I-can’t-stop-thinking-about-you line since their first encounter and in only four days already admit it.

And the whole infatuation thing was kinda frustrating me, especially Tara’s infatuation over Ethan as this story was told from her POV. Her infatuation clouds her priority. I just couldn’t get how her infatuation takes over herself while she’s in (sort of) important thing. And she also couldn’t see thing that is so clear in front of her eyes. All the while I mostly felt like I want to tell her to at least take a minute and think it through. Maybe it’s because she’s so naive, or it’s just me be being sarcastic, one thing for sure it made me rolled my eyes and felt like want to bang my head to desk.

That insta-love kinda killed my mood to know more about the characters. Hence it was quite hard to connect to their story. And I just couldn’t buy it easily, instead I was questioning their act and the way their thinking.

But there is also thing that made me curious and wanted to keep reading it to know how Tara and Ethan and other characters will end. I think the author did a good job deliver her story. She gives information about the characters and what the story is all about bit by bit, in between the dialogues, in other flashback chapters and in description from Tara’s POV. It’s like she tease me and dare me to keep reading it. And boy did I curious in each chapter.

I think this book can be an enjoyable NA book (I especially liked and curious about Ethan’s past), but so far I didn’t see it has something more, different from any other NA books out there. I felt like it was just the same old stories I’ve read so many times. I’m still curious of the rest of the volumes, though.

Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

