Review: What Price Paradise by Katherine Allred

2414750Blurb from Goodreads

What Price Paradise Katherine Allred All his life Tate McCullom has been taught to be responsible, and he is the very model of what a respectable man should be. Until the night he gets drunk and sleeps with a woman he barely knows. Now, six weeks later, she’s pregnant, alone, and broke. Once again, Tate must take responsibility for his actions, and makes plans to marry his child’s mother. There’s only one problem.he has to tell his fianc e. Abby Grayson hasn’t had an easy life. As the daughter of the town whore, people either avoid her or think she’s like her mother. For Abby, it’s a struggle just to fill her belly and keep a roof over her head. Loneliness and a secret yearning for this man she thought she’d never have led her to spend the night with Tate. But the last thing she needs is a baby when she can barely take care of herself. Desperate, but too proud to ask for help, she finally agrees to accept a job from Tate  the job of being his wife. Now she has almost everything she’s ever dreamed of. Unfortunately, only one thing will gain her Tate’s love – his realization that the night he spent with her was no drunken accident. It was a last-ditch attempt to win the woman he really wanted.

ebook, 224 pages
Published July 14th 2005 (first published June 29th 2005)
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Adult
My Thoughts
As my second Katherine Allred book, I have to say that I much enjoyed and loved Sweet Gum Tree more. But now I’m sure that I liked her writing, especially when she describes the setting. It makes me picture it easily and feel like be there in the story.

I really liked the main characters in this book. I can see that they change throughout the story. Abby at the end of the book is stronger, braver and more determine than at the beginning while Tate can learn from his mistake and knows what he wants for his life. I also liked they relationship. It’s cute and sweet, though it isn’t an easy one to begin with. As for other characters, Buddy and Joe, they are so good I want they have their own stories.

But it is Diane that I wasn’t quite satisfied. From Tate and Joe description about her in the beginning of the story, I assumed that she’s a (sort of) wicked, manipulative woman. So I was kinda hope she has more backbone when Tate told her that he married someone else. I don’t know, I think I kinda wished that she’s more cunning and determine to get him back while I didn’t see much of it. I felt like she doesn’t live up what people say about her, a rich young woman who keeps flirting with lots of men and always gets her way to keep coming back to her fiance. I didn’t see it at al. Well…maybe I was just assumed wrong, but I think it can be a good drama in the story which was what I thought when I read its blurb.

And then there are things that I felt like unclear and just left it behind.

Her glance landed on the dirty dishes and she jumped to her feet, the paper bag that had been in her lap falling unnoticed to the floor.

This is from chapter 3, after the description there isn’t any follow up about that paper bag. What is it in the paper bag? Is there anyone who notice it if Abby left it on the floor unnoticed? Is it the same paper bag that she mentions later in chapter 22? And then there is also about Abby’s birthday. Tate is planning to give something for her birthday which he thinks has to be a surprise. He then goes to town with her to buy it while she buys something for herself. Then something happens and then he never mentions about his give or her birthday in general anymore. They are only teeny tiny things, I know, but I felt like the characters forget them because something happened after those things. Or maybe I was just missing something there?

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

