Review: Beneath Beautiful by Allison Rushby

18886367Blurb from Goodreads

When a handsome stranger approaches Cassie Tavington in Paris’s beautiful Père Lachaise cemetery, she has no idea who he is. It doesn’t take long to find out. A whispered name from a passerby shocks her into the realisation that it’s Cameron Callahan, high-profile modern artist, who she’s busy showing around the cemetery.

Mortified, Cassie runs, but Cameron soon tracks her down. He’s intent on having Cassie sit for him, but Cassie isn’t sure. His provocative sculptures are often in the media, which isn’t somewhere that Cassie, the daughter of a politician, should be.

But there’s no denying the attraction between the pair, and Cassie soon finds herself in a strange whirlwind of a relationship. Between Paris, London and New York, Cassie finds sitting for an artist isn’t as simple as it seems. There’s much to contend with—including Cameron’s ex-girlfriend, Plum, her own father, and her new love interest, James.

With the clock ticking down to the opening of Cameron’s new exhibition, Cassie must struggle to decide just how much of herself she can give over to Cameron and his sculpture while still remaining whole.

ebook
Published November 1st 2014
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

To be honest, as my first book from Allison Rushby, I didn’t expect much to this book. I don’t know her writing style or what she usually writes. The cover and the blurb that were intrigued me to request it on NetGalley. And when I saw that it is a New Adult book, I thought that it is like any other New Adult books I’ve read. You know with characters whose have baggage, a hero who needs to be rescued, a naive heroine and an insta-love.

I even think there is an insta-love when I reach 4% of the story, just because the main character, Cassie told me that she has an instant attraction with the hero, Cameron. And boy did she have it and lust over him for most of the time along the story. I have to admit, though, that I didn’t quite like it. Reading her having an instant attraction and lusting over Cameron was quite annoying. I think it didn’t suit with her personalities well. When she met him for the first time, she told me she always takes herself carefully to not be exposed by the media because of her father’s job. So when she decided to sit for him and willingly moved to New York only days after meeting him, it seems so careless and so-not her. At least the Cassie she told me about at the beginning of the story.

And then there are other characters that somehow intertwine Cassie and Cameron’s life it seems too coincidence. Hence I didn’t buy it. I mean it is like Alys, Plum and James suddenly in New York just because Cassie is there, though Alys was there in the first place. But still their connection is hard to believe, for me, at least.

However, the more I read the more I understand what Cassie’s trying to tell. And all of my thoughts when I started reading this book were just a glimpse of the story. And my prejudice of this book, about it being as cliche as any other new adult books was wrong. I’m glad the author can show me that I was wrong and there is more to her story, Cassie’s story, than the blurb and its label, being a new adult book, tell me.

I really liked the way it’s written. I’m not an artistic person. I mostly don’t understand the meaning of painting, moreover sculpture. But here, I get it, I understand what Cameron trying to say through his works. It left me wondering whether his works are purely the author’s idea because they are amazing.

Although at the beginning I didn’t quite like Cassie, I cannot help to not love her in the end. She grows up throughout the story and reading her character development was so relieving. I also liked other characters, especially Cassie’s older sister and her husband, Jo and Jeremy, they are really funny. All of the characters play their role well.

I think there is no better title for this book than Beneath Beautiful. It describes the story perfectly. You have to read this book, with its layers to understand it well.

Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

