Review: Off The Map #3, Inside Out by Lia Riley

20805727Blurb from Goodreads

Book #3 in the OFF THE MAP series
New Adult Contemporary Romance

When Talia first moved from California to Australia to study abroad, she never dreamed she’d find the love of her life. Bran understands her like no one ever has before. And despite the numerous challenges they’ve faced, they’ve always managed to figure out how to stay together. But this time they’ll face their toughest hurdle yet. Is their love strong enough to keep them together?

Kindle Edition, 244 pages
Published December 2nd 2014 by Forever
edition language: English
series: Off The Map
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
As the final book of Off The Map series, I think it wasn’t as engaging as the previous books. Most of the time I felt it was too slow and got distracted easy by other things, unlike when I read Upside Down and Sideswiped. And one thing that I really looking forward since Upside Down which I kinda wish will describe more doesn’t happen here. It’s Talia’s OCD. Since book 1 I really liked reading her OCD because somehow I can relate to and it was so believable I want her to feel better from it. But her anxiety here doesn’t even explain more than in Sideswiped.

Yet, if I see it from different angle, I think Talia finally can overcome (?) it slowly but surely with Bran’s help, of course. That was what made me love them even more. Their relationship is so strong and they trust each other. There is nothing can shake their feeling. I just love how they help each other and always know what they need from one and another.

“You matter so much. And what you feel, matters to me.”

description
One thing that I didn’t quite like was a feeling that each chapter has similar pattern. It’s kinda repetitive for me. It’s like Talia and Bran’s problems take turn in each chapter. So here I read one chapter about Talia’s issue and Bran tries to help her and then she gets her confidence back in a couple chapters. After that it’s time for Bran to face his problem with Talia convincing him that he’s a worthy man. Just like in Talia’s problem, it needs a few chapters till he gains his confidence back. Then the pattern goes back to Talia before it makes a circle to Bran’s problem again. It happens over and over till the last chapter.

I still think it’s an enjoyable ending, though. Not all of Talia and Bran’s problem are solved completely, some of them are left unsolved. But it is what happens in real life, right? You live your life and solve your problems one at the time and if you have someone along the way, like Bran for Talia and Talia for Bran, then you’re so lucky.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

