Review: Reclaiming The Sand #2, Chasing The Tide by A. Meredith Walters

21914535Blurb from GoodReads

Bully and Victim

Friend and Lover

Past and Future

Ellie McCallum and Flynn Hendrick’s story was as painful as it was devastating. But they were able to find within each other an unlikely yet beautiful love. Despite the obstacles that tried to keep them apart.

And together they rose out of the ashes of their tragic history.

Now years after their life changing reunion Ellie is back in Wellston, having just graduated from college and ready to start her future with the man who taught her how to love. However, returning to a town that held so much bitterness and anger was the last place she wanted to start over.

But for Flynn, who is now an art professor at the community college and firmly rooted in the place that gave them their beginning, she’d do just about anything.

Yet it’s difficult building a life when you’ve only just learned how to live.
And love, no matter how strong, doesn’t always conquer all.

Ellie and Flynn must learn how far they are willing to go to stay together. Or whether the ghosts of the past will consume them both.

Because finding a happily ever after is harder than it seems. Particularly when you’re fighting against the one thing that could destroy you.

Yourself.

Kindle Edition, 254 pages
Published December 14th 2014
edition language: English
series: Reclaiming The Sand
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I love Flynn Hendrick and Ellie McCullom I felt like I’m not ready to say goodbye by the time I reach the last page of Reclaiming The Sand. And since then I’ve reread a few times, or just skimmed it to my favorite parts whenever I need to let me out from reading slump. And boy does it work every time. So you can tell how happy I was when I knew there will be another Flynn and Ellie’s story.

This time is mostly about Ellie’s life. I love I got to see more of her past life here, from her childhood to her college life. The author didn’t tell Ellie’s past in much description. It’s only in two or three pages in each chapters but it tells a lot about her. I think that way I can understand her better while at the same time it didn’t overlap the main story, her relationship with Flynn.

Their relationship is still hard, sometimes harder than in previous book. I really like when characters have to struggle and fight hard to get what they want, just like Flynn and Ellie who push their limit to make their relationship works. But I also felt the middle part of the story was a bit drag on and was kinda repetitive. I understand that Flynn needs consistency and routine but when I read the same thing happens I have to say that it was quite annoying and boring. So Ellie doesn’t want to be in Wellstone then her dislikes of her town effects Flynn’s mood. They yell and mad to each other and then she realizes that Flynn is all she needs. I know it means to show how hard they have to work for their relationship, with their own issues. But I think maybe their struggling can be in a different way to avoid the same thing over and over.

I still think that this is a nice story though, more than nice, to be honest. And I still love Flynn and Ellie and am still not ready to say goodbye. That’s how much I love them and their story.

Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Reading Challenge:
– GoodReads: Book #3
– YA Buddy Readers’ Corner ♥: Finish at least 5 series I’ve started.
– Popsugar: A book I can finish in a day
Leave a Reply

